Weekly Poem #197

Hit and Run

 

I saw him at the crossing, waiting for the lights to change,

Walking like he had a foot tangled in his shadow,

I caught his eye, for the briefest moment, and then he turned a corner.

I still see him, scraped across the tarmac, innards unpacked,

Caped by a crimson streak, fingers twitching their last.

He’d never seen it coming, boy racer, exhausts flaring, wheels screeching

Until the bodywork shattered, and pressed him into the ground.

Walking to work I would hear the screams, shouts and whimpers,

I thrash my head from side to side to shake them loose, but they stick,

I see pleading eyes reflecting in shop windows, see them follow me down the street.

Perhaps I caught the edge of his soul in that moment, and claimed it for my own,

I was the last person to see him alive, the last person to see his complete self,

Perhaps that sealed some spiritual pact between us, tethered him to me.

I’ve asked him before, but he never answers, he never says anything,

He just looks at me, with those pleading eyes, and lets me take care of the rest.

About Caljd
I'm a film student living in South Wales. If my entire life was essentially a film noir with everyone driving E-Type Jaguars around, wearing Italian suits and fedoras I'd be a happy man. Equally I wouldn't mind it basically being Woodstock, without the mud. I'm an insanely passionate film enthusiast and I write a fair amount of screenplays and short stories, I'm also working on 3 different writing projects that could well end up as full novels. Most of the time there's nothing I like to do better than put on a decent post-rock album, sit back and spend some quality time with Mary Jane ;)

Leave a Reply

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

Unkilled Darlings

Faulkner said, kill your darlings. I say, put them on the internet and let strangers read them.

NotMyTumblr

Emerging artists and my thoughts on life

toodamncanadian

Just another WordPress.com site

corngoblin

A rather droll affair

Espen Stenersrød- From Pen To Heart

Jack Kerouac with a scent of Henry Vaughn

silkroadcollector.me

An International company that offers private antique art sales to clients around the globe.

amberleighjellytea

Just another brain vomit blog

Jonesing for Design

@stephhh // Digital Designer based in London, UK.

Each Day is a New Story

A daily photo blog by London based digital designer, Steph Jones // @Stephhh

David Darbyshire

Creative Sound & Music

